Through a Cat’s Eyes – 8.2

Autumn Harvest, Shredder’s Day 13, Year of the Lion number 427; September 12, 1738 Agathon

We made it back to Casozali. Hungry, tired, and broken. As a group, we were able to scrape together enough coin to pay room and board for a couple nights, but after that, we would all be on our own.

I don’t want to think about what we lost. Possessions can be replaced. People can’t. Never again will we hear the music and singing of Alani. Will I ever dance again? And if so, would I be haunted by the memories?

And to think about that demon that ambushed us. We didn’t know why. If it were for our treasure, he (it?) wouldn’t have destroyed the wagons. Was it just for the love of killing? Perhaps, but he didn’t pursue us. Perhaps we weren’t enough of a challenge. Or worse, he wanted news of him to be spread. Which it did. We told the guards about it. They listened and promised that something would be done.

Autumn Harvest, Shredder’s Day 14, Year of the Lion number 427; September 13, 1738 Agathon

It’s time for me to move on. Where will fate take me? Today an answer availed itself to me. I don’t know if its the right answer. Or the best answer.

This morning I went from tavern to tavern looking for work. I was thinking either working as a maid, a serving wench, or perhaps joining a troupe and dancing. No one was hiring, and I got all kinds of excuses, like my fur would get in the food or I had no experience, or whatever.

Finally, as I was about to give up for the day, a man pulled me aside. He introduced himself as Mak Vashiga, and he said he was first mate on the Outlaw Girl, a merchant ship. They were looking to fill a few openings in their crew, and especially needed someone who could climb, had good eyes and ears, and was willing to travel. I asked him to tell me more. He said that pay was based upon how the entire crew did – profits were evenly distributed. As a newbie, I’d have to learn the basics – how to raise and lower sails, how to coil and tie ropes properly, and, of course, cleaning. I said I was interested. He said he’d talk to the captain and to meet him by the dock at sundown.

I did and met the Captain. A half-orc named Tarmon Silverkeep. The first mate introduced us and Captain Silverkeep said the job was mine if I wanted. We’d be sailing at dawn. Be there or be left behind.

I didn’t think to ask where the next port-of-call would be, I was so excited.

 

Previous: Through a Cat’s Eyes – 8.1

Next: Through a Cat’s Eyes – 8.3

Leave a Reply

