Through a Cat’s Eyes – 8.3

Autumn Harvest, Shredder’s Day 15, Year of the Lion number 427; September 14, 1738 Agathon

When I stepped aboard the Outlaw Girl this morning, I thought today would be an exciting adventure meeting the sailors, learning about sailing and the sea, and perhaps seeing new ports of call.

But alas. After the thirty-minute longboat trip from the dock to the ship anchored a half a mile away, the ship did nothing for the first few hours other than just bobbing in the waves. The sun was high in the sky when the anchor was pulled up. The sails caught the afternoon wind and we were finally moving.

And I discovered that my stomach wasn’t prepared. I spent I don’t know how long leaning over the rail retching my breakfast and lunch. The rest of the time was spent curled in a corner, out of everyone’s way.

Hold on a minute. I’ll be right back…

Ugh. Seems this life is going to take some adjusting. I had hoped the mild dinner would stay down, but right now, feeling hungry is better than feeling sick. And throwing up. I don’t know if I’ll be able to sleep tonight.

“Don’t worry,” says Mak Vashiga. “It’ll pass after a day or two.” I asked where we were going. “Swarmgarde.” I knew nothing about this place. “We’ll be there in about ten days.” Give me a rope and drag me behind the ship. I’d rather swim than suffer this nausea. He laughed at me. At least he didn’t expect me to do anything useful today. Not that I could have.

 

Previous: Through a Cat’s Eyes – 8.2

Next: Through a Cat’s Eyes – 8.4

Leave a Reply

